I got out of my Indonesia mandated knitting hiatus with finishing my version of Jared Flood’s Turn a Square which will be my brother’s christmas present. I used dark green Berroco Ultra Alpaca left over from Sarah’s scarf and varigated brown Plymouth Yarn Boku which gives it’s it a decidely tree like appearence. My brother is well known for a large head, both literally and metaphorically so I hope it will fit. It is currently on my bathroom floor being blocked, and I tried to pull it out as much as possible to give it some more length.

I was debating making another scarf for the the brother’s girlfriend againt his year so I’ve been trawling ravelry for a good hat which I can use some odds and ends on. I found Kate Gagnon Osborn’s Opus Spicatum which is a herringbone fair isle tam. It’s designed for smaller amounts of yarn which is perfect but I think the small amount of Ultra Alpaca I still have left will be just too small of an amount.

I’m hoping to head to the yarn shop tomorrow to see if I can get the needles for the jaywalkers so I’ll see if I can pick up a skein of some worsted.

