Summer is definately winding down. Pretty soon school buses will start showing up again. As it is most of my friends here in the States are already back a college, many of them started classes this week! It’s strange for me to think that I still have three weeks before I head back to uni and about a month before classes even start. I’m looking forward to getting back into the grind of things, it makes you feel like you’re actually doing something.

I’m starting the data collection on my dissertation soon so I finally got over my fears and emailed my advisor back about the changes to my research question. I went back over his email from earlier in the summer and while he wanted to me to refine my questions and thinking about how and why I would do my research he more or less okayed it which was something that I had forgotten over the course of the summer. This puts my mind at rest while I go out to collect my data next week (hopefully). I have quite a bit of work ahead of me in terms of getting everything together that I need, it’s not much, just a quadrat, a level, a tape and some painted rocks but most of this I have to build so it’s also a matter of getting what I need and then actually making it. I believe that I’ve refined my fixed cross stave level to a buildable/usable point where I don’t have to be up until all hours of the morning trying to figure out how to make this thing. Note to self : check tide tables for next week. It’s a shame that I’m missing some really good tides over the weekend but what can I do, these things happen in science.

On the knit side of things, I didn’t go to the yarn shop. I will at some point though I have figured out how to jury rig the pattern so that the left over alpaca will be enough. I have also joined in a swap over at ravelry which means I’ll be getting a tiny skein of DK in the post soon