I spent my day herePA140031

doing some SCIENCE

SCIENCE!

with my trusty quadrat.

Here I am in the mists of counting periwinkles

PA140018

and then the waves came

PA140027

though I managed to stay dry for most of the time.

Overall it was a successful day. I forgot that the eastern US measures tides in feet while the UK measures them in meters, quite a difference there in how low you can get on the shore. Even so I saw some interesting stuff that already is seeming to prove my hypothesis about there being more algae on US coasts. I’ll head back down to Beavertail next week when there’s a very low tide and see if I can get farther down. Otherwise I’m off to Sandwich tomorrow for some more. The tides are not ideal, I’ll be working from low to high but I”ll take what I can get.

PA140048

Irish Moss

