Last Friday I managed to get my mother to take me past our local yarn store so I could pick up some sock needles for my Jaywalkers. Incidently she was going to a baby shower on Sunday and had been racking her brain as to a present. While we were there she was admiring some baby sweaters and asked me offhandly if I could knit a baby hat as a present. I said I could so we purchased some yarn and went home. The hat soon was joined by booties and we went out again for needles for the hat and another ball of yarn. Barely a day and a half later I had knit a hat and booties which personally I think are the cutiest things and they went over very well at the baby shower.

Gooseberry

Pattern: Gooseberry Hat by Suvi Simola

Yarn: Katia Sugar 4 ply in 3505

Needles: 3.5 mm / US 4 dpn

This hat is truly adorable and a very fast knit. The pattern calls for sport weight yarn but with the needles called for and smaller yarn my gauge was still a stich lower than the gauge called for. Personally I thought the hat came out a little large but I think the baby can grow into it.

Saartjes

Pattern: Fleegle’s Seamless Saartje Booties by Fleegle

Yarn: Katia Sugar 4 ply in 3505

Needles: 2.5 mm / US 1 1/2 dpn

These booties are I think what I’m most proud of. Each bootie took me about three hours to complete. I made the mistake of attempting them with dpns which is not the easier ordeal, I’ve since bought a curcular needle that I can try them out on. Learning the Turkish cast one was interesting and usefull, I’m always interested in learning new techniques.  Of course, the straps and buttons were being completed mere minutes before we had to make it to the baby shower. These are something I would definately make again.

 

