Silky Gretel

Pattern: Gretel by Ysolda Teague

Size: Regular

Yarn: Debbie Bliss Alpaca Silk Aran in Off White (25013) approx. 144 g

Needles: 4.5 mm / US 7 and 4.0 mm / US 6

This yarn was some of the first yarn I ever bought on my first stashing trip to Edinburgh in October 2008. It took awhile for me to decide what to do with it and even longer to knit it. I’m taking the 10 in 2010 challenge and this was my first FO of the year. I cast on on 1 Jan and finished it on the 16th. It’s a great pattern and the result is beautiful and very wearable. This has become my standard winter hat. It was very exciting to both use yarn and knit a pattern that I’ve been waiting so long to do, it being even better that it gets to be something for me. I will be knitting a second Gretel as part of the Ravelympics for my friend Michelle.

