Jane’s Thorpe

Pattern: Thorpe by Kristen Kapur

Size: 22 inch circumfrence

Yarn: Adriafil Mistero in 31 Orange-Green approx. 52 grams

(Contrast) Patons Australia Shadow Tweed in 06917 approx. 14 grams

Needles: 5.5 mm / US 9

Hook: 4.5 mm

I knit this on commission for a friend after she saw me knitting all the Christmas hat. This is a fantastic pattern, very quick to knit and a really great finished item. It’s simple yet effective which what I want knitwear to be. The top down construction is a bit interesting to start off but it makes the single construction much easier. I switched balls of yarn for the ear flaps so both would be green as I was getting to the end and I didn’t want one to be orange and the other to be green. The top down construction also allows you to get a much better fit as you can try it on as you go along. The double crochet edging adds a great touch, after a little you tubing it came quite quickly and really off sets the the main colours well. I will definitely be knitting more of these in the future. This was knit for the Hat Half Pipe in the 2010 Ravelympics for Team GB.

