I’m still in my mode of up days and down days though probably since the last time I wrote it has been more up than down.

I had a really good trip to Bangor. The journey down went very smoothly, no train issues and I managed to find the B&B with no problems though I did get a little worried when I kept walking and hadn’t gotten to it yet. I knitted the majority of the first of my Vancouver mittens on the journey down so that was a nice feeling. Bangor isn’t as studenty a town as St Andrews is so I was a little lost for things to do before the open day started, I did a bit of wandering and so forth. Luckily I met a girl from York who was also there for marine biology so we spent quite  a bit of time together, it was nice to talk to someone else who is studying the same sorts of things and interested in the same subjects. The visit to the school of ocean sciences was very informative and cast a completely different outlook on my part than the first time I visited. I also discovered they have a program which is Marine Environmental Protection which is much more in line with my interests and academic background. It changes how I look at other programs as well, like the Exeter fisheries program which was sort of a just in case is now much higher on my list. I think the fact that the majority of my essays end up being about fisheries must point towards me actually being very interested in fisheries, not to mention the rather impassioned speech I gave to Ank over dinner on saturday. The only thing now is to get all my applications in and down. Ultimately I’d like to get that done in the next few weeks. I am attempting to write a CV and am hoping to go to the Careers Service tomorrow to have them give me some pointers on that and my personal statement. While the journey down went quite smoothly, the return trio was much more exciting. The train out of Crewe was late meaning I missed my train in Lancaster. There was a train in half an hour to Carlise and then the last train that day to Edinburgh seeing as they were doing work on the tracks. There were quite a  few people in this situation and I met a girl who’s studying at Liverpool so we talked most of the to Edinburgh. Strangely enough one of the people from that Crewe train, a man and his little boy actually ended up getting off at Leuchars as well, it’s so weird how small and interconnected the world really is, the way peoples’ lives converge and diverge in unexpected and amazing ways. Anyhow, the train out of Lancaster was late but they held the Edinburgh train in Carlise for us but there was still the mad dash through the station.

I’ve been a bit overwhelmed by work lately, or really the idea that the world is spinning a little too fast into the future and I don’t feel like I’ve found my feet in order to catch up. I have set up talking to Alan on skype and had our first catch today. I seem to be having the problem of looking to far into the future and getting caught up in things that at this point I have no control over and I need to remember to take one step at a time and work in the present. So we’re to catch up again on Friday and hopefully I’ll have gotten some work done which starting is the hardest part and I’m going to do that.

On to the more interesting things, I’ve put up a few knitting posts of things I knit for Ravelympics, the majority of it I haven’t had a chance to photograph even though I’ve been wearing the new Gretel for almost two weeks now. The ribbing on it has really stretched out and I need to find out if I can block it back together. Hopefully I’ll get some more pictures and posts up soon.

But now, I’m just focusing on what I can actually manage now, if I take care of the present the future should take care of itself.

