After two weeks, mainly to give my legs a break as it was feeling like shin splints coming on, but also some bad weather, being away and general stress I finally went for a run. It was a bit of a struggle to just convince myself to go. I decided that the only reason I didn’t want to was because I believed that I couldn’t do it and I can so I needed to just go do it and then even if I couldn’t do I would actually know and it wouldn’t be for lack of trying. Anyhow, long story short, I went and did my third week 3 run and it was great. It was challenging but in a good way and I was able to run the interval with a minimum of discomfort. I’m going to just go for it and start week 4 which I think will be a bit of a stretch as the time moves up to 5 minutes but I’m willing to give it a shot. I really want this thing to work and be able to run for longer distances and times. I’m already eyeing up 5K races for late summer when I’m at home. Ever the competitor it will give me a goal and a reason, other than fitness for why I’m doing this, plus the fact that you usually get t-shirts with these things and it looks impressive to have them, or at least I think so.

In terms of pushing myself to do things, I’m struggling to get myself to start my personal statement at the moment (not to mention the dissertation). I know I am not comfortable writing, especially about myself but I need to just start and get stuff down and then I can go back and polish it. But the sooner I start, the sooner I can take it in to the Careers Service and they can look at it, and the sooner I can get these applications out. So I need to forget that I’m not comfortable writing about me and just do it.

