Cryptic Swallowtail

Pattern: Swallowtail Shawl by Evelyn A. Clark

Yarn: Plymouth Yarn Baby Alpaca Lace in Gray (401) approx. 34 grams

Needles: 3.5 mm / US 4

I’ve knit a few lace projects so far and really wanted to tackle a shawl. The swallowtail pattern is very popular and looked like a lot of people started with it as a first shawl. It was a bit tricky at the beginning but overall the pattern was very nice to knit and the one mistake I did make it almost impossible to see (I started a row 1 when I was on row 3). The nupps were a bit of a challenge but I managed by using a small dpn to lift the stitches to get my needle underneath. This project also was one of my 10 in 2010 so that’s 4 done. Overall I really enjoyed the pattern, the lace wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be, after a while you start to see the pattern and how it works. To block I used cotton string as a rule and tried to pin it out in that shape; it is amazing how the pattern shows up so beautifully after blocking. I’m not sure if I will ever knit this particular shawl again though if I do I will make it bigger though I will definitely knit more lace in the future.

As for the name, when I went to go take pictures I noticed how it looked a bit like a moth or butterfly trying to blend in with the rocks it was on and so I called it my Cryptic Swallowtail.

