My Ishbel

Pattern: Ishbel by Ysolda Teague

Yarn: J.C. Rennie Supersoft Cashmere in Lisaa (046) approx. 43 grams

Needles: 4 mm / US 6

This pattern has become like the secret handshake of knitters and I was very excited to start knitting it. I bought this yarn over a year ago from Di Gilpin in St Andrews. I thought I would need a second ball so I popped by when I returned at the end of the summer to pick up another however I used less than one ball for this shawlette. The yarn has a lovely heathery look to it and a slight variation in colour. I’m not sure if this is actually yarn from their machine knit line which seems to contain more lanolin then their hand knitting line, though the yarn had a very sheepy feel to it. For some reason knitting with it took me back to my week long holiday in Scotland’s north west Highlands, a land of sheep and hills and fog which I loved beyond measure.

The pattern is very well written as can be expected from Ysolda, the lace repeats where easy to remember and with a concentrated knitting effort this piece could probably be completed in a day or two in a push. Before blocking the finished piece seems a bit small but I’m sure it will grow and the yarn will soften some with blocking.

I’m very excited to be able to wear this, a mark of a knitter these days. This was another 10 in 2010 project. I decided to finish the piece specifically on 11 August in celebration of my two year Ravelry anniversary, almost like a gift to myself. I don’t know if I plan to knit another but it will definitely remain on the books as a last minute gift knit or if I really want another one. I would be interested in doing a small/large hybrid or one in lace in the future.

