Suse Socks

Pattern: Arch-shaped socks by Jen Showalter

Yarn: Araucania Itata Multi in Green and Gold approx. 61 grams

Needles: 2.5 mm / US 1 1/2

These socks took entirely too long to knit but the finished project is really very nice, though the pictures here really don’t give them justice. Adding it the ribbing on the foot was a bit tricky as the pattern wasn’t written this way bit if you just for it it seems to work out fine. The main reason I picked this pattern is that the recipient, while having a similar foot length as me has slightly narrower feet and I thought that the ribbing would make up for that.

The yarn is very pretty, a wool/bamboo/silk blend. The silk and bamboo give it a beautiful sheen but I found the bamboo makes it a bit crunchy as it knits up and doesn’t move on the needles very well. The final fabric, especially after a wash in Eucalan is very soft and overall I’m very pleased with the outcome.

These socks where #8 in my 10 for 2010 list. I will probably knit another pair at some point for myself, perhaps using some of the mods other people have posted on ravelry.

