Castle Ness Shawl

Pattern: Dover Castle Shawl by Judy Marples

Yarn: Belle Epoque Silk Sock in Loch Ness approx. 63 grams

Needles: 3.75 mm / US 5

This shawl was my mother’s Christmas gift this year. I had originally decided to knit her a pair of socks with this yarn but coming off the Falling Leaves socks I couldn’t really face knitting more so I settled on this beautiful shawl.

The pattern is really well written, knits up quite fast and I really enjoyed knitting it. The silk content in the yarn gave it a beautiful sheen and a heaviness that made knitting with it heavenly. When I started I was a little worried that the variegation in the yarn would hide or distract from the beautiful lace but I’m pleased to say that it doesn’t. I plan on knitting another at some point in a subtle variegated yarn.

This pattern was also number 8 on my 10in2010 list and the last project I completed from that list.

 

